Carsbook now

East Anglia

SOuthwold beach huts and peoplePlaces of interest and things to around East Anglia

There are endless options and things to do around East Anglia and many of them are child/teenager focused so there should be ample opportunity to tire them out!

Our list below is far from comprehensive but does hopefully give you a quick idea of the options available if you are not familiar with the region.

We have listed these in order of distance from Framlingham, have provided a link to their websites and have colour coded them:

Brown – general places of interest

Blue – more specifically child related places

Red – transport links

Important places to travel to/from or to stay or to visit Miles Website
Framlingham Castle (EH) 0.0 http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/properties/framlingham-castle
Darsham r/w station 7.1 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Saxmundham r/w station 8.5 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Halesworth r/w station 9.3 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Snape Maltings 12.7 http://www.snapemaltings.co.uk
Walberswick port and beaches 14.4 http://www.walberswick.ws
Woodbridge & Sutton Hoo (NT) 16.0 http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/sutton-hoo
Aldeburgh beaches 16.5 http://www.visit-suffolkcoast.co.uk
Southwold beaches 16.6 http://www.visit-suffolkcoast.co.uk
Bungay 17.9 http://www.bungay-suffolk.co.uk
Orford Castle (EH), port and beaches 18.1 http://www.visit-suffolkcoast.co.uk
Stowmarket r/w station 20.4 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Ipswich r/w station 22.0 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Beccles & The Broads Nat. Park 22.3 htttp://www.norfolkbroads.com
Lowestoft and beaches 26.7 http://www.lovelowestoft.co.uk
Felixstowe Ferry 30.0 http://www.felixstowe-bus-train-times.co.uk
Lavenham Guildhall (NT) and Melford Hall (NT) 33.7 http://www.discoverlavenham.co.uk
Bury St Edmunds Cathedral & Theatre Royal (NT) & Ickworth (NT) 36.0 http://www.visit-burystedmunds.co.uk
Dedham (Constable country) 34.5 http://www.dedhamvalestourvalley.org
Manningtree 36.1 http://www.greateranglia.co.uk
Colchester and Paycockes (NT) and Bourne Mill (NT) 45.7 http://www.nationaltrust.org.uk/paycockes
Coggshall Grange Barn (NT) 49.3 http://www.coggeshallmuseum.org.uk
Haverhill 54.0 http://www.haverhill-uk.com
Suffolk Coast & Heaths Area of Natural beauty 155sq. miles http://www.suffolkcoastandheaths.org
Our chosen charity
The Suffolk Punch Trust http://www.suffolkpunchtrust.org
Other things to do (for kids of all ages)
Easton Park Farm 4.0 http://www.eastonfarmpark.co.uk
Africa Alive 21.0 http://www.africa-alive.co.uk
Banham Zoo 24.8 http://www.banhamzoo.co.uk
Pleasurewood Hills 28.9 http://pleasurewoodhills.com
Snetterton Race Circuit 29.5 htttp://www.snetterton.co.uk
Great Yarmouth Racecourse 38.6 http://www.greatyarmouth-racecourse.co.uk
Thetford Forest & Go Ape 39.6 http:///www.goape.co.uk/days-out/thetford
Colchester Zoo 45.7 http://www.colchester-zoo.com
Newmarket Racecourse 52.7 http://www.newmarketracecourses.co.uk
Fakenham Racecoure 63.0 http://www.fakenhamracecourse.co.uk
RSPB Suffolk – 9 sites http://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/collections/suffolkcoast.aspx
RSPB Norfolk – 7 sites http://www.rspb.org.uk/reserves/collections/thewash_northnorfolk.aspx‎
Further afield but doable with a 2 day rental
Norwich castle & cathedral etc 35.4 http://www.museums.norfolk.gov.uk
Caister on Sea 40.0 http://www.great-yarmouth.co.uk/places-to-go/caister-on-sea.aspx
Downham Market & Oxburgh Hall (NT) 48.9 http://www.visitnorfolk.co.uk/explore-norfolk/downham-market.aspx
Broads NP and Horsey Windpump  (NT) 49.0 http://www.broads-authority.gov.uk
Swafham & Castle Acre (EH) 55.6 http://www.english-heritage.org.uk/daysout/…/castle-acre-castle-acre-priory
Cromer 62.0 http://www.thisiscromer.co.uk
Wells next the Sea 70.0 http://www.wellsnextthesea.info
Sandringham Estate 70.0 http://www.sandringhamestate.co.uk
Burham Market 70.1 http://www.burnhammarket.co.uk

The ‘Curious County’

For some strange reason the powers that be at Suffolk Tourism have decide to name their new website http://thecuriouscounty.com.

Even the design of the website is slightly ‘curious’ but it does contain some good stuff.

In the very unlikely event that you’re at a loss for something to do click on the Visit Suffolk link (which is the really informative website) and then go to the Events tab where you will find a very broad selection of daily ‘Events’ listed in chronological order.